7:00 P.M.







A meeting of the Board of School Trustees of the Vigo County School Corporation was held at the Vigo County School Corporation Administration Building, 686 Wabash Avenue, Terre Haute, Indiana on Monday, January 26, 2009 at 7:00 P.M.


The following Board Members were present:  Mr. Gene Shike, Mrs. Jackie Lower,

Mr. Guille Cox, Dr. Joseph Minnis, Mr. Paul Lockhart, and Mr. Mel Burks.  Ms. Patel was unable to attend the meeting.


Pledge of Allegiance


Mrs. Jackie Lower led the Pledge of Allegiance.


Resolution of Memoriam


Mr. Gene Shike presented a Resolution of Memoriam for the following two former employees of the Vigo County School Corporation:


            1.         Mr. Wayne “Joe” Fox, former Mathematics/PE/Science Teacher at

                        Rankin Junior High School, and PE/Business Teacher/Counselor at

                        Otter Creek Junior High School.


            2.         Ms. Ruth Laxen, former grade 4-6 Teacher at Warren Elementary

                        School, and Principal at Crawford Elementary School.




Ms. Gail Artis, Curriculum Coordinator, Mr. Jeff Lorick, Director of the Terre Haute Human Relations Commission, and second grade writing teachers shared information about the Diversity Writing Contest.


First Call for Citizens Comments


Comments were received from the following citizens:


            1.         Mr. Bernard Ridens, Director of the Taxpayers Association spoke on

                        the possibility of an alternative method of purchasing paper.


            2.         Ms. Leah Myers, Mr. Donald Hyde, Ms. Shannon Gillan, and Mr. Todd                             Nation spoke against the Community Feasibility Taskforce

                        Committee’s recommendation to close Chauncey Rose Middle School.


            3.         Mr. Harry Garrett questioned repairs made to Chauncey Rose if the plan

                        is to close the school.


            4.         Ms. Rose Marie Scott spoke on the large student body population of North

                        and South Vigo High Schools.


Consent Agenda


Mr. Burks moved for approval of the Consent Agenda.  Mrs. Lower seconded the motion.  The motion passed unanimously.


The following Consent Agenda items were approved:


            1.         Minutes – Organizational Meeting – January 12, 2009


            2.         Minutes – Regular Meeting – January 12, 2009


            3.         Financial Status Report – December 31, 2008


            4.         Interim Accounts Payable Docket – December 2008


            5.         Accounts Payable Docket – January 26, 2009


            6.         2008 Appropriation Transfers – General Fund


            7.         2008 Appropriation Transfers – Transportation Fund


            8.         2008 Appropriation Transfers – Capital Projects Fund


            9.         Stipend Authorizations


            10.       Professional Leave Requests






Ms. Deb Kunce, Schmidt Associates, presented a brief summary of the Community Task Force meeting held earlier this evening in regard to the Feasibility Study.  She noted that their meeting this evening was the final one, and she would bring a full report of their recommendations. 


Dr. Minnis asked if her report would be in written form.  Ms. Kunce replied that she would have a written report of the Community Taskforce Committee’s recommendations.


New Business


Personnel Report


Mr. Tanoos presented the Personnel Report for approval.


Mr. Lockhart moved for approval of the Personnel Report.  Mr. Burks seconded the motion.  The motion passed unanimously.


West Vigo Middle School Phase II Renovation Project


Mr. Tanoos requested approval for Energy Systems Group (ESG) as the construction manager and qualified energy savings provider for the West Vigo Middle School Phase II renovation plan.


Mr. Burks moved for approval.  Mr. Cox seconded the motion.  The motion passed unanimously.


(See Proceedings)


Xerographic Paper Bid


Mr. Tanoos stated that bids were received and opened on January 5, 2009 for xerographic paper.  He recommended that a contract be awarded to The Paper Corporation in the amount of $143,273.60, and that all other bids be rejected.


Mrs. Lower moved for approval.  Mr. Lockhart seconded the motion.  The motion passed unanimously.


(See proceedings)





Mr. Tanoos requested approval for the 2008-2009 Gifted and Talented Grant.


Mrs. Lower moved for approval.  Mr. Burks seconded the motion.  The motion passed unanimously.


(See Proceedings0




Second Call for Citizens Comments


Mr. Bernard Ridens, Director of the Vigo County Taxpayers Association, spoke on the expense of mandated state testing.


Mr. Donald Hyde spoke on the possible closing of Chauncey Rose Middle School.


Ms. Rose Marie Scott asked for additional athletic teams to be made available for students since only a few are able to participate in those school activities.


Committee Reports


No reports were given.


Information and Proposals from Board Members and Superintendent Tanoos


Mrs. Lower asked Mr. Azar about the Wellness Committee and noted she would like to vigorously speed up the process on that committee.


Mr. Cox commented about extra teams in our schools so more students can participate.


Mr. Shike said perhaps a very good intramural program would help.


Mr. Burks commented that although citizens have the right to speak about any topic they prefer during the second call for citizen’s comments, it is important to remember to do it in a respectful and professional manner.


Dr. Minnis asked the administration for a report on what kind of athletic programs we offer students.


Mrs. Lower asked if a represented from Kelley Services be present at the next Board Meeting.


Mr. Tanoos suggested that he send any questions that the Board need addressed to Kelley Services and would respond back to the Board.


Mr. Tanoos noted that he has been involved with Indiana Youth Institute and will be going to Indianapolis to share with the state the great plans we are working on in Vigo County.


Adjournment:            8:10 P.M.






______________________________President   ______________________________


______________________________Vice Pres. ______________________________


______________________________Secretary  ______________________________


______________________________Dep. Secy.