A meeting of the Board of School Trustees of the Vigo County School Corporation was held at the Vigo County School Corporation Administration Building, 686 Wabash Avenue, Terre Haute, Indiana on Monday, August 22, 2009 at 7:00 P.M.


The following Board Members were present:  Mr. Tom Thomas, Mrs. Jackie Lower, Mr. Guille Cox,

Dr. Joseph Minnis, Mr. Paul Lockhart, Ms. Alpa Patel, and Mr. Mel Burks.


Pledge of Allegiance


The Pledge of Allegiance was led by Mr. Guille Cox.




Mrs. Carolyn Roberts, Diversity Consultant for the Vigo County School Corporation, introduced Mr. Ralph Wagle, President of Garmong Construction, who talked about the African American Internship Program.  The African American Internship Program is sponsored by Garmong Construction.   Mr. Wagle introduced intern Chynna Turner, a student at South Vigo High School, who shared her experiences with the program.


First Call for Citizen’s Comments


Comments were received from Mr. James Flinn.


Consent Agenda


Mr. Burks moved for approval of the Consent Agenda.  Mr. Lockhart seconded the motion.  The motion passed unanimously.


The following Consent Agenda items were approved:


            1.         Minutes – Regular Meeting – August 10, 2009


            2.         Stipend Authorizations


            3.         Financial Status Report


            4.         Accounts Payable Docket, August 24, 2009


            5.         Encumbrance Report – Period Ending July 31, 2009


            6.         Professional Leave Requests


            7.         Authorization to Commit Resources for Community Supported/Residential Services





Recycling Program


Mr. Jay Etling provided an update on the corporation recycling program, and showed a video that has been distributed to all schools to promote our recycling efforts.


Booker T. Washington High School


Mr. Mick Newport presented the administration’s latest proposal for the Booker T. Washington High School.  A lengthy discussion took place regarding the school and its possible move to a new addition at South Vigo High School.  Following discussion, the School Board President appointed Mr. Burks to chair a committee to investigate the following options:  1. Cost to bring the Washington Building to compliance; 2. Add a separate entrance addition to Terre Haute South Vigo High School to house the Booker T. Washington School; 3. Build only a daycare center at South Vigo, and have the Booker T. Washington students interfold into South Vigo student’s base.


New Business


Personnel Report


Mr. Tanoos presented the Personnel Report for approval.


Mrs. Lower moved for approval of the Personnel Report.  Ms. Patel seconded the motion.  The motion passed unanimously.


Master Agreement between the Board of School Trustees and the Vigo County Teachers Association


Mr. Tanoos reported that the Vigo County School Corporation and the Vigo County Teachers Association reached a tentative agreement which was presented to the teachers by the Vigo County Teachers Association on August 17, 2009.  The new two-year agreement was ratified by the membership of the Vigo County Teachers Association on August 17, 2009.


Mr. Burks moved for approval.  Mr. Lockhart seconded the motion.  The motion passed unanimously.


(See Proceedings)


2010 Calendar Year Budgets


Mrs. Wilson presented the 2010 Budgets for General Fund, Debt Service Fund, Capital Projects Fund, Transportation Fund, and Bus Replacement Fund.  She requested permission from the Board to advertise these budgets as presented.  Mrs. Wilson noted that this would be followed by the Budget hearing scheduled for September 14, 2009 and the request for Budget Adoption on September 28, 2009.


Mr. Cox moved for approval to advertise the 2010 Calendar Year Budgets as presented.  Mr. Burks seconded the motion.  The motion passed unanimously.


(See proceedings)





Mr. Tanoos requested permission to approve the following Grants:


            1.         Title I Grant, Part A, Application


            2.         Title I Grant, Part D, Subpart 2, Title I Grant, ARRA


            3.         Learning Technologies Competitive Grant, Cadre 2


            4.         Carl D. Perkins Grant


Mr. Burks moved for approval of the above listed Grants.  Mrs. Lower seconded the motion.  The motion passed unanimously.


(See Proceedings)




Second Call for Citizen’s Comments


Comments were received from Mrs. Leah Myers and Mr. James Flinn.


Committee Reports from Board Members


No reports were given.


Information and Proposals from Board Members and Superintendent Tanoos


Dr. Minnis noted that at some point in time the Board will need to act on the Pepsi-Cola contract.  He commented that he had a concern with the adjustment at the end of the year. Considerable discussion took place in regard to this issue.  Mr. Burks questioned why the Board was involved with specifics when that was the job of the Superintendent who would then bring his recommendation to the Board.  He asked Mr. Tanoos if he recommended the current contract.  Mr. Tanoos replied yes, Pepsi said that is the best they could offer.  Ms. Patel and Mr. Cox suggested that Mr. Tanoos have the Board attorney review the contract.


Mr. Tanoos stated he would have Board Attorney, Fred Bauer, review the contract and then will bring it back to the Board at the September 14th meeting.


Ms. Patel commented that she was pleased with the beginning of school this August as everything seemed to run smoothly.


Mrs. Lower said she had been attending the school open house meetings and they seemed to be enjoyable for teacher, parents and students.


Mrs. Lower asked that information be provided at the next Board meeting in regard to student population numbers and class sizes.


Mr. Tanoos commented that the dedication of Shike Field at North Vigo High School last Friday was very nice.



Adjournment:  9:05 P.M.





______________________________President   ____________________________


______________________________Vice Pres.  ____________________________


______________________________ Secretary  ____________________________


______________________________Dep. Secy.